West Indies squad for T20I series against India


The West Indies cricket team has recalled wicket-keeper batter Shai Hope and fast bowler Oshane Thomas for the five T20 match series against India commencing on Thursday. West Indies are currently hosting team India. The tour includes two Tests, three ODIs, and five T20I matches.
India won the two-match Test series. Hope is captain of the West Indies in 50-over cricket. He hasn’t played a T20I for the Caribbean side since February last year, while Thomas is in line for his first international 20-over contest since December 2021.
The West Indies T20I team will be led by batter Rovman Powell and Kyle Mayer will be the vice-captain. Jason Holder, Nicholas Pooran, and Shimron Hetmyer also feature in the squad. Former West Indies player and now Chief Selector Desmond Haynes said, “The squad is selected with the next ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in mind.”
He added, “We are looking at various plans as we try to find the right combinations. As we prepare; we are looking to build a unit which we believe can do the job when we host the global event in just under a year.”