Wealth and diversity: Insights into Mizoram’s Assembly poll candidates

Karnataka Assembly elections
Representational Image

Out of the total 174 candidates vying for the Mizoram Assembly elections, 112 are millionaires, with the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) state president, Andrew Lalremkima Pachuau, emerging as the wealthiest among them, declaring assets valued at nearly Rs 69 crore.
Based on the affidavits submitted by the candidates, 64.4 percent of them disclosed assets worth Rs 1 crore or more. Andrew Lalremkima Pachuau, the AAP’s Mizoram president, boasts the highest assets, with declared holdings totaling Rs 68.93 crore. He is running for election from the Aizawl North-III constituency.

Following closely is R. Vanlaltluanga from the Congress, representing the Serchhip seat, with assets worth Rs 55.6 crore. H. Ginzalala, contesting from Champhai North for the Zoram People’s Movement, occupies the third position with assets declared at Rs 36.9 crore. The candidates’ primary source of income, as stated in their affidavits, is business. On the other end of the spectrum, Ramhlun-Edena, an independent candidate from the Serchhip seat, is the least affluent, possessing movable assets worth a mere Rs 1,500.

One notable error was identified in the affidavit of BJP nominee J.B. Rualchhinga from Lawngtlai West, who mistakenly declared assets worth Rs 90.32 crore. The party has since requested a correction from the election department. In the 2018 Assembly elections, the wealthiest candidate was MNF nominee Lalrinenga Sailo, who represented the Hachhek constituency, with declared assets of Rs 100 crore. He was followed by party colleague Robert Romawia Royte, who ran for Aizawl East-II and had assets worth Rs 44 crore.

However, Sailo’s assets have since reduced to Rs 26.24 crore, and Royte’s to Rs 32.24 crore in the current election. Among the 16 women candidates, Congress nominee Meriam L. Hrangchal from Lunglei South is the wealthiest, possessing assets worth Rs 18.63 crore. MNF president and Chief Minister Zoramthanga stands as the richest among the presidents of the five contesting political parties, with assets valued at Rs 5 crore.