Team India led by Jaspirt Bumrah leaves for Ireland for T20I series

Team India, captained by Jaspirt Bumrah, departs for a T20I series in Ireland

Jasprit Bumrah

For a three-match T20I series to be played in Dublin, a revamped India team captained by Jasprit Bumrah has departed for Ireland. The events will take place from August 18 to August 23. Under the direction of Bumrah, who is making a comeback after a protracted injury layoff, the team is full of young players who will be eager to make a name for themselves.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) took to its social media handles to upload photos of the players’ departure. Apart from Bumrah, the team also includes Ruturaj Gaikwad, Prasidh Krishna, Rinku Singh and Shivam Dube.

The first match of the three-match T20I series between Ireland and India will take place at The Village in Dublin on August 18. With four half-centuries and 474 runs scored in 14 games for Kolkata Knight Riders, Rinku Singh had a breakout Indian Premier League (IPL) season. He is one of the new faces on the team. The last time pacer Prasidh Krishna represented Team India was against Zimbabwe in August 2022. He was supposed to play for Rajasthan Royals in the IPL 2023, but he was forced to sit out due to a lumbar stress fracture.

All-rounder Shivam Dube, who last played for India in February 2020, also makes his return to the side after a hard-hitting 2023 IPL season with Chennai Super Kings.  He hit 418 runs in 16 matches with three fifties and impressed with his power-hitting in a title-winning campaign.