Supreme Court Collegium Recommended The Names Of AOR Sibo Sankar Mishra And Judicial Officer Ananda Chandra Behera Takes Oath As Judges Of Orissa High Court



The Supreme Court Collegium recommended the names of Advocate-on-Record Sibo Sankar Mishra and Senior Judicial Officer Ananda Chandra Behera took oath as Judges of the Orissa High Court on September 09, 2023.
Ther Supreme Court Collegium bench comprising of CJI DY Chandrachud, Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul and Justice Sanjiv Khanna recommended the names of 17.08.2023.
Therefore, the Union Law Ministry notified their presidential warrants of their appointments.
However, while recommending Behera, the Supreme Court appointed body which gave due consideration to the fact that he was the 14th senior-most Judicial Officer of the State and recommended his name will result in overlooking the candidature of 13 officer’s senior to him.
Presently, the High Court shall have the a functional strength of 22 against the sanctioned strength of 33 Judges. Thus, the same will come down to 20 again upon the retirements of Justice Biswanath Rath tomorrow and Chief Justice SubhasisTalapatra on October 3, 2023.