Stalin moves ‘Hindi imposition’ resolution at state Assembly

 Chief Minister MK Stalin-led Tamil Nadu government on Tuesday moved a resolution against “Hindi imposition” in the state Assembly.

The resolution stated that the report submitted recently to President Droupadi Murmu by Union minister Amit Shah, led by the parliamentary committee on official language, has been debated across the country. Many recommendations made in the report are detrimental to the people of non-Hindi-speaking states, including Tamil Nadu.

“This House expresses concern that the recommendations of the Parliamentary Committee, now presented, are against the two-language policy resolution moved and passed by Perarignar Anna in this August House, contrary to the promise made by the then Prime Minister Nehru to the non-Hindi-speaking States and are against the use of English as an official language, ensured by the resolutions passed in 1968 and 1976 on Official Language,” said the resolution.

Meanwhile, Bhartiya Janta Party MLAs staged a walkout from the house when the ‘Hindi imposition’ resolution was being passed.

According to the Tamil Nadu government, the parliamentary panel recommendations included: “Hindi should be the medium of instruction instead of English in the educational institutions of the Union Government such as IITs, IIMs, AIIMS, and Central Universities. In order to make Hindi a common language, Hindi should be made the medium of instruction in all educational institutions of the Union Government, including technical and non-technical educational institutions and Kendriya Vidyalayas.”

The state government also alleged that the recommendations said that in the employment of the youth, the English language should be removed from the compulsory papers and only Hindi should be given priority.

Earlier on Sunday, Chief Minister MK Stalin wrote to Prime Minister Narendra Modi that the recommendations should not be accepted or implemented since they are against the federal principles of the Constitution, detrimental to the multilingual structure of our country, and question the future by ignoring English and completely excluding the 22 state languages of non-Hindi-speaking States which are mentioned in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution.

Latest news

Related news