PM Narendra Modi to inaugurate India’s new Parliament building today

The new Indian Parliament building will be inaugurated by PM Modi today

Today, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the brand-new, technologically advanced Parliament building.A number of Vedic rituals would be carried out prior to PM Modi’s inauguration of the new Parliament building, officials stated. On Sunday, the new Parliament building will be officially opened by PM Modi and Om Birla, Speaker of the Lok Sabha.
The specific details of the inauguration have not been made public, but has learned from trustworthy sources that it will occur in two phases.
Around noon, the official ceremony for the new president will start. However, preparations would begin early in the morning the day before the event.However, it is known through reliable sources that an elaborate ceremony will take place on Sunday morning starting from 7:15 am.
During the inauguration, various programs will be held from Sunday morning including puja, after which PM Modi will receive the Sengol and will install the Sengol after a ceremony. After which diya will be lightened followed by the unveiling of the plaque.
Furthermore, PM Modi will interact with Shramjeevis and Sarv Dharma Sabha will be held.PM Modi will felicitate the worker who worked on the Parliament construction.
The inauguration ceremony will begin with puja performed by Vedic ritual way starting at 7:30 am. These pujas will go on till 9 am.
The sources told  that the rituals ahead of the inaugural ceremony will begin in the morning and is likely to be held in a pandal (canopy) near the Gandhi statue in Parliament. PM Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker, Om Birla, Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Hariwansh and some senior ministers in the government are likely to be part of the ceremony.At 11:30 am, all the invitees including members of Parliament, Lok Sabha Speaker and Rajya Sabha, chairman and other distinguished guests are expected to be seated in the Lok Sabha chamber in the new building.
During this phase, a speech will be delivered by the Deputy Rajya Sabha Chairman, Hariwansh, who will further read a written congratulatory message on behalf of Rajya Sabha, Chairman, Jagdeep Dhankar. A written message by President Droupadi Murmu will also be read out on the occasion.
In fact, two short audio-video films will also be showcased for the dignitaries present to talk about the process of construction of the new parliament, building and its significance.The function is expected to begin at about 12 pm and is expected to be over by around 1:30 pm.
The Adheenams (priests) handed over the sacred sceptre, ‘Sengol’, to PM Modi on Saturday, on the eve of the inauguration of the new Parliament building.
‘Sengol’, which marked the symbol of the transfer of power from the British to India, will be kept as a legacy in the new Parliament building.
PM Modi on Friday shared a video glimpse of the new Parliament Building stating that the iconic building will make every Indian proud.
In a tweet, PM Modi said, “The new Parliament building will make every Indian proud. This video offers a glimpse of this iconic building. I have a special request- share this video with your own voice-over, which conveys your thoughts. I will re-Tweet some of them. Don’t forget to use #MyParliamentMyPride.”
The task of constructing the new Parliament building was a mammoth endeavour. It witnessed several key construction activities being done off-site as well. Further, the construction also saw the usage of materials sourced from across the country.
As per the government officials, Teak wood was sourced from Nagpur, Maharashtra while sandstone (red and white) was procured from Sarmathura, Rajasthan.
The carpets to be floored inside the new building were procured from Mirzapur in Uttar Pradesh.
The bamboo wood flooring came from Agartala, Tripura.Apart from BJP, several parties in the NDA including AIADMK, Apna Dal, the Republican Party of India, the Shinde faction of Shiv Sena, NPP, and NPF have confirmed their attendance for the function on Sunday.
Several neutral parties, including Biju Janata Dal, TDP, and YSRCP will be present for the inauguration.
Amongst the opposition parties, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) and Janata Dal-Secular will also attend the function on Sunday.
Invitations for the inauguration of the new parliament, building have been sent both physically as well as through e-invitation.Both renowned industrialist Ratan Tata, whose company TATA built the new structure, and the lead architect of the new parliament building, Bimal Patel, have been invited to the inauguration of the new building.
A letter of invitation has also been addressed to a number of well-known individuals, including actors and athletes.

Latest news

Related news