PM Modi set to address nation from Red Fort on 77th Independence Day

Ajmer, May 31 (ANI): Prime Minister Narendra Modi addresses a public meeting, in Ajmer on Wednesday. (ANI Photo)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will lead the nation in commemorating its 77th Independence Day on Tuesday, with the major stage set for ceremonies at the landmark Red Fort in the national capital.

According to a press statement published by the Ministry of Defence on Sunday, PM Modi will hoist the National Flag and address the country from the ramparts of the ancient landmark.

This year’s Independence Day will conclude the ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ celebrations, which the Prime Minister launched from Sabarmati Ashram in Ahmedabad, Gujarat on March 12, 2021, and will usher the country into ‘Amrit Kaal’ with renewed vigour to realize PM Modi’s dream of making India a developed country by 2047.

According to the announcement, a variety of new projects have been planned to commemorate the 77th anniversary of the Declaration of Independence, and a larger number of guests have been invited than in 2022.

PM Modi will be greeted at the Red Fort by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Raksha Rajya Mantri Ajay Bhatt, and Defence Secretary Giridhar Aramane.
Lieutenant General Dhiraj Seth, the General Officer Commanding (GoC), Delhi Area, will be introduced to the Prime Minister by the Defence Secretary.

The GoC Delhi Area will then lead Narendra Modi to the Saluting Base, where a joint Inter-Services and Delhi Police Guard will present the Prime Minister with a general salute. The Prime Minister will then inspect the Guard of Honour, according to the announcement.

According to the statement, the Guard of Honour contingent for the PM would include one officer and 25 personnel from the Army, Air Force, and Delhi Police, as well as one officer and 24 personnel from the Navy. This year’s coordinating service is the Indian Army.

“The Guard of Honour will be commanded by Major Vikas Sangwan. The Army Contingent in the Prime Minister’s Guard will be commanded by Major Indrajeet Sachin, the Naval contingent by Lieutenant Commander MV Rahul Raman and the Air Force contingent by Squadron Leader Akash Ganghas. The Delhi Police contingent will be commanded by Additional DCP Sandhya Swami,” it added.