Opposition parties walk out from Rajya Sabha

Rajya Sabha

Over the India-China border clash joint opposition staged a walkout from Rajya Sabha on Monday. Opposition demand is to hold a debate over the recent clashes along the LAC between the Indian and Chinese forces at the Tawang sector in Arunachal Pradesh.

Meanwhile, when the Zero Hour was being conducted in the Upper House these parties Congress, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD), Communist Party of India (Marxist), Communist Party of India (CPI), the Trinamool Congress, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), Samajwadi Party (SP), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Shiv Sena and the Kerala Congress were among other staged the walkout.

Moreover, Leader of Opposition (LoP) Mallikarjun Kharge sought a detailed debate on clashes along the LAC between the Indian and Chinese forces on December 9.

“They (China) are encroaching on our land. If we don’t discuss this issue then what else should we discuss? We are ready for discussion on this issue in the House,” LoP in Rajya Sabha said.

However, Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar rejected the demand of the opposition and asked MPs to not convert it into a classroom. Even after staging a walkout from the house, the Chairman continued the Zero Hour.

After this, a press conference was held outside the House and attacked the government. RJD leader Manoj Jha said, “We don’t have doubt about the capacity of the Indian Army but your (government) diplomacy is completely failed.”

“Why Modi ji’s government is fleeing away from holding a discussion on India-China border clash issue?” AAP leader Sanjay Singh asked the question.

Furthermore, on 9 December 2022 a clash between Indian and Chinese troops took place along the LAC.