ODI series: New Zealand unveils squad against Pakistan

The ODI squad for New Zealand’s upcoming series against Pakistan has been announced.

The visitors will be missing a number of their regular players, who are currently involved with their respective IPL franchises. Kane Williamson (knee injury), Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, and Finn Allen will all be missing for the Blackcaps.

In the absence of their star players, Tom Latham will take over as captain. He will have experience with some quality players on his team. He will rely on experienced players such as Daryl Mitchell, Matt Henry, James Neesham, Henry Nicholls, and Ish Sodhi.

Ben Lister and Cole McConchie are two potential debutants for New Zealand.
On the tour, head coach Gary Stead stated, “We had a number of exciting matches against Pakistan in both white ball formats last season, both at home and away. They are a tough team to take on no matter where you put them

“The successful ODI Series earlier this year in Pakistan provided significant learning opportunities for the players, and having more ODI match experience in a World Cup year is fantastic,” Stead added.

The five-match One-Day International series will kick off on April 26 in Rawalpindi and conclude on May 7 in Karachi. It will be preceded by a five-match T20I series from April 14 to April 24.

Tom Latham (c), Chad Bowes, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Cole McConchie, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Rachin Ravindra, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young are the New Zealand ODI squad.

Latest news

Related news