Nepal Vice President takes oath of office

Nepal’s newly elected Vice president Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav took the oath of the office on Monday and assumed charge in a special ceremomy.

In a formal ceremony held in the President’s Office, Sheetal Niwas, President Ram Chandra Paudel gave the newly elected Vice President the oath of office and confidentiality.

On March 17, Yadav won the election for vice president of the nation.

Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, Speaker Debraj Ghimire, National Assembly Chair Ganesh Timilsina, former President Dr Ram Baran Yadav, outgoing Vice-President Nanda Bahadur Pun, former prime ministers Sher Bahadur Deuba and Madhav Kumar Nepal and ex- chairperson of the council of ministers, Khilraj Regmi were also present during the oath-taking ceremony of Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav.

The deputy prime minister, ministers, MPs, heads of constitutional bodies, senior government officials, heads of security agencies, ambassadors from foreign embassies in Nepal, leaders of various political parties, and journalists were also present.

Ram Sahaya Prasad Yadav was the Madhesi Jana Adhikar Forum’s first general secretary and was heavily involved in the initial Madhesh Movement (2007). In 2008, he served in the first Constituent Assembly to start his parliamentary career.

He was chosen to serve in the legislature from the Bara district on the then-Forum ticket, and he was returned in 2017. In the previous Sher Bahadur Deuba-led administration, he had been the Minister of Forests and the Environment.

Latest news

Related news