Karnataka Assembly elections: Polling ends with 65.69% voter turnout until 5 pm

Karnataka Assembly elections
Representational Image

Polling for the Karnataka Assembly ended at 6 p.m. on Wednesday, with the overall voter turnout at 65.69% as of 5 p.m., according to the Election Commission (EC).

According to the EC, the Chickaballapur district had the highest polling rate until 5 p.m., at 76.64 percent, while the BBMP (South) district had the lowest, at 48.63 percent. Up until 5 p.m., Bangalore Rural had 76.10 percent of the vote, with Bagalkot trailing at 70.04 percent and Bangalore Urban at 52.19 percent.

The EC also stated that B.B.M.P (Central) and B.B.M.P (North) had turnouts of 50.10 percent and 50.02 percent, respectively, until 5 p.m. The voter turnout was 52.18 percent until 3 p.m., up from 37.25 percent at 1 p.m. and 20.99 percent at 11 a.m.

Karnataka’s 224 Assembly constituencies went to the polls at 7 a.m. on Wednesday.