Jofra Archer ruled out of IPL, Chris Jordan named replacement

England all-rounder Chirs Jordon has joined the Mumbai Indians team in place of fellow countryman Jofra Archer in the ongoing IPL tournament. MI announced it in its statement on Tuesday, IPL said it in a release.

Jordan made his IPL debut in 2016. He has played so far in 28 matches and has taken 27 wickets in the IPL.

He represented England in international cricket; the old war horse has plenty of experience, especially in the shortest form of the game. The speedster is set to join MI for Rs 2 crore.

Earlier, Jordan was engaged at the International League T20 (ILT20) tournament for the Gulf Giants. He had the distinction of grabbing the most wickets in the tournament. Jordan took 20 wickets in 10 innings at a rate of 13.80.

The next outing for the Mumbai Indians will be against the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday.

The Mumbai Indians have done extremely well in the absence of premier bowlers like Jasprit Bumrah. Piyush Chawla has done a fantastic job so far, taking 17 wickets. However, the rest of the bowlers have not performed as per their reputation. They have to improve their performance, either in terms of wickets or runs.

Currently, RCB has been occupying fifth position in the points table with five wins and an equal number of losses, and the MI is also sailing in the same boat as far as wins and losses are concerned, but Mumbai is one step down due to an inferior net run rate.

Mumbai Indians Squad: Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Cameron Green, Suryakumar Yadav, Tristan Stubbs, Tim David, Nehal Wadhera, Chris Jordan, Piyush Chawla, Akash Madhwal, Arshad Khan, Kumar Kartikeya, Ramandeep Singh, Dewald Brevis, Raghav Goyal, Vishnu Vinod, Riley Meredith, Shams Mulani, Arjun Tendulkar, Tilak Varma, Hrithik Shokeen, Duan Jansen, Sandeep Warrier and Jason Behrendorff.
Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad: Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis(c), Anuj Rawat, Glenn Maxwell, Mahipal Lomror, Dinesh Karthik(w), Kedar Jadhav, Wanindu Hasaranga, Karn Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Josh Hazlewood, Harshal Patel, Suyash Prabhudessai, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Michael Bracewell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Akash Deep, Rajan Kumar, Avinash Singh, Himanshu Sharma, Manoj Bhandage, Wayne Parnell, Sonu Yadav, Finn Allen and Siddarth Kaul.

Latest news

Related news