Indian team seeks course correction in ODIs


Suryakumar Yadav will be aiming to improve his 50-over game while Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson are likely to audition for the wicketkeeper’s slot when India play a three-match ODI series against the West Indies, beginning on Thursday. India will use the series against the West Indies to test out a few players to finalise their combinations ahead of the Asia Cup, which will precede the ODI World Cup at home in October-November. Like the two Tests, India will be expected to dominate the West Indies but the series presents a crucial opportunity for the likes of Suryakumar, Kishan, Samson, Yuzvendra Chahal and Umran Malik.
Suryakumar, who has not been able to replicate his superhuman T20 form in the ODIs, can stake a claim for the number four spot in the absence of injured Shreyas Iyer. Though he recorded a hat-trick of first ball ducks in the previous series against Australia, the X-factor batter is expected to start the series. K L Rahul, who is undergoing rehabilitation after a thigh surgery, will be a strong contender for the number one wicket-keeper’s slot when he returns to action. Kishan, who impressed with the bat and was behind the stumps in the Test series, is likely to be the wicketkeeper for the opening ODI. That leaves Samson and Suryakumar to battle for the remaining spot in the middle order. In the bowling department, it is another opportunity for tearaway pacer Umran Malik to make an impact. The 23-year-old from Jammu and Kashmir has the tendency to leak runs but is a genuine wicket-taking option. He has taken 13 wickets in seven ODIs. Chahal has gone down in the pecking order of spinners and Kuldeep Yadav was picked ahead of him in the last series against Australia. The leggie will be eagerly waiting for his chance. Mohammed Siraj will lead the pace attack with Jaydev Unadkat, Mukesh Kumar and all-rounder Shardul Thakur being the other options.
India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar.