Haryana to hold elections to 46 civic bodies on 19 June


The much-awaited elections to 28 municipal committees and 18 municipal councils will be held on June 19 from 7 am to 6 pm while nominations will be filed from May 30 to June 4 (except June 2 being a routine holiday), and the scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on June 6. The last date of withdrawal of candidature will be on June 7 from 11 am to 3 pm.

The election symbols will be allotted to the candidates on the same day. Due to extreme weather conditions, the polling time has been extended for an hour. If required, repoll would be done on June 21. 

About 10,000 polling personnel would be deployed for smooth conduct of elections, besides police deployment at sensitive and hyper sensitive booths. Elaborate arrangements are being made for the conduct of elections in a free fair, transparent, and peaceful manner.

State Election Commissioner Dhanpat Singh said that that with the announcement, the Model Code of Conduct has come into force hence, no officer or official connected with the election work will be transferred till the completion of the election process. “Elections to the Faridabad Municipal Corporation and three other municipalities will be held later as the revision of the voters’ list is still in progress.”

The expenditure limit of the contesting candidates, contesting the election of the seat of President and Members of Municipal Council and Committee has been revised. The Election Commission has also set an educational criterion for the contestants.

The State Election Commission will appoint senior IAS or HCS Officers as Election Observers, senior IPS or HPS officers as Police Observers for the maintenance of law and order and senior officers of Excise and Taxation Department as Expenditure Observers in the Municipal Committees and Councils concerned.

All the contesting candidates are required to maintain an account of election expenditure and submit the same within 30 days from the date of declaration of election result to the Deputy Commissioner or an officer authorized by the State Election Commission, failing which the defaulting candidate will be liable to be disqualified for five years.