Get ready for football action soon

La Liga, the Spanish football league, is resuming after three months due to the coronavirus outbreak. From May onwards, the teams have been preparing for the games taking utmost caution.

This league is the second largest in Europe in terms of revenue. Last season, the league earned 4479 million euros (Rs 38,363 crore). Spain being the Mecca of football, the turnover of the football industry there is 1.37% of the total national GDP. Also, this league also provides 1.85 crore jobs to the people. The country receives a tax of 4.1 billion euros (Rs 35,225 crore) from the football industry.

 Sixty-two teams have competed in La Liga since it came into existence, with Real Madrid winning the trophy for a record 33 times and their archrivals FC Barcelona 26 times.

Real Madrid and Barcelona dominated the championship in the 1950s, winning four La Liga titles each, throughout the decade. During the 1960s-1980s Real Madrid dominated La Liga, though the Basque of Athletic Bilbao and Real Sociedad had their share of success too. From the 1990s onward, Barcelona has dominated La Liga winning 16 titles up to date.

The prime characteristic of La Liga is that it is not dominated specifically by any team. The champions have been constantly changing.

Latest news

Related news