Former UP Deputy CM Dinesh Sharma takes oath as Rajya Sabha MP

Dinesh Sharma takes the oath of office as a Rajya Sabha member

Dinesh Sharma, a former deputy chief minister of Uttar Pradesh and current BJP leader, took his oath of office in the Rajya Sabha on Monday. Soon after the Rajya Sabha’s 261st Session, a five-day Special Session, began, Sharma took the oath of affirmation.

The BJP leader was chosen to represent Uttar Pradesh in the Rajya Sabha. Due to the lack of any other party’s nomination for the Rajya Sabha seat, he was elected without a challenge. After a recent by-election was held by the Election Commission to fill the vacancy left by the passing of senior BJP leader Hardwar Dubey, he was chosen to fill the seat.

From September 18 to September 22, a special session of parliament (the 13th session of the 17th Lok Sabha and the 261st session of the Rajya Sabha) will meet for 5 sittings in an effort to have productive discussions and debate in Parliament.

Latest news

Related news