Centre to issue Rs 75 coin to mark the opening of new Parliament

The Centre will issue a special commemorative Rs 75 coin to mark the opening of the new Parliament building, according to a notification issued by the Ministry of Finance on Thursday.

The notification of Ministry reads “The coin of seventy five rupees denomination shall be coined at the mint for issue under the authority of the central government on the occasion of inauguration of new Parliament building.”

The obligation for designing and minting coins in India is delegated to the Centre by the Coinage Act of 1906. The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) is in charge of issuing these coins.

The coin’s front will feature the Lion Capitol of Ashoka Pillar in the centre with the words “Satyameva Jayate” engraved below it. The coin will bear the term “Bharat” in Devanagari script on the left periphery and “India” in English on the right periphery.

Below the Lion Capitol, it will also have the Rupee symbol and the denominational number “75” in international numerals. The image of the new Parliament building will appear on the other side of the coin. On the upper periphery, the inscription “Sansad Sankul” would be written in Devanagari script.

The word “Parliament Complex” in English will be printed on the coin’s lower edge.
Below the image of the future Parliament, the year “2023” in International numerals will be written. It will weigh around 35 grams.

Latest news

Related news