Centre announces appointment of Justices Ujjal Bhuyan, SV Bhatti as Supreme Court judges


The government has announced that Justices Ujjal Bhuyan and SV Bhatti have been appointed by the Centre as Supreme Court judges.

According to the announcement released on Wednesday, Justices Ujjal Bhuyan and SV Bhatti Chief have been appointed as judges of the Supreme Court of India by the President in exercise of the authority granted by the Indian Constitution.

The Telangana High Court Chief Justice Ujjal Bhuyan and Kerala High Court Chief Justice S Venkatanarayana Bhatti were recommended for nomination as justices of the Supreme Court Collegium last week.

In a collegium meeting on July 5, 2023, Chief Justice of India DY Chandrachud and justices Sanjay Kishan Kaul, Sanjiv Khanna, B R Gavai, and Surya Kant made the choice.

The resolution stated that the Collegium found the two individuals to be deserving and suitable in all respects for being appointed as Judges of the Supreme Court of India after carefully evaluating the merit, integrity, and competence of eligible Chief Justices and senior puisne Judges of the High Courts and also accommodating a plurality of considerations.

The Gauhati High Court appointed Justice Ujjal Bhuyan as a judge on October 17, 2011. He has been Chief Justice of the High Court for the State of Telangana since June 28, 2022, and he is the senior-most judge on his parent High Court.

On April 12, 2013, Justice S Venkatanarayana Bhatti was appointed to the High Court of Andhra Pradesh, where he currently serves as the senior-most judge. He was the High Court of Kerala’s Chief Justice at the time.

The Supreme Court now has thirty-one of the thirty-four judges it is authorised to have on staff. As of the present, there are still three Supreme Court vacancies.