Bypoll Results: Counting underway for 7 Assembly seats in 6 states

Counting underway for 7 Assembly seats in 6 states; Cong takes lead in Puthuppally, BJP ahead in Bageshwar


Votes are currently being tallied for the seven assembly seats spread across six states, including Uttarakhand’s Bageshwar, Uttar Pradesh’s Ghosi, Kerala’s Puthuppally, West Bengal’s Dhupguri, Jharkhand’s Dumri, and Tripura’s Boxanagar and Dhanpur.

Chandy Oommen, a candidate for the Congress, is in the lead from Puthuppally in Kerala, according to early trends. From Boxanagar in Tripura, BJP candidate Tafajjal Hossain is in the lead. Parwati Dass, a BJP candidate, is in the lead in Uttarakhand’s Bageshwar. According to data posted on the Election Commission’s official website, Bindu Debnath of the BJP is leading from Dhupguri in West Bengal and All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) candidate Yashoda Devi is leading from Dumri in Jharkhand.

On Tuesday, September 5, six states held their by-elections. These byelections are significant because they could be a test for the opposition coalition’s ability to defeat the BJP before the 2024 Lok Sabha. The election for the Puthuppally Assembly seat became necessary following the passing of Oommen Chandy, a former chief minister of Kerala and leader of the Congress. From 1970 to 2023, Oommen Chandy served as the Puthuppally representative 12 times in a row. Chandy Oommen, Oommen Chandy’s son, is running from Puthuppally, while Jaick C. Thomas is the candidate of the ruling CPI (M).

After Pratima Bhoumik of the BJP resigned from the assembly to keep her seat in the Lok Sabha, a bye-election was required in Tripura’s Dhanpur. In the byelections in Dhanpur, Kaushik Chanda of the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) will face off against Bindu Debnath of the BJP. As a result of the passing of CPI (MK) MLA Samsul Haque, the seat in Tripura’s Boxanagar district became open to competition between the BJP and CPI (M).