BJP to sweep Gujarat and form government for seventh consecutive term

As the BJP swept the assembly elections with an unprecedented majority, state BJP chief CR Paatil said on Thursday that the next chief minister of Gujarat would be sworn in at 2 p.m. on December 12.

The oath-taking event will include participation from Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah. Bhupendra Patel will take the oath of office as Gujarat’s chief minister for the second time. On September 12th, 2021, he won his first election as the BJP’s legislative party leader.

“Gujarat’s CM will take oath at 2 p.m. on December 12th. PM Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah will take part in the oath ceremony,” CR Paatil said while addressing a joint press conference with Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel after the trends suggested BJP’s majority in the state, empowering the party to form the government for the seventh time in the state.

“Bhupendra Patel will be the chief minister again,” he confirmed.

Patel assured the public of the BJP’s dedication to public service and stated that the party humbly accepts the mandate of the people of Gujarat.

“The results of Gujarat elections are quite clear. People have made up their minds to further continue with the journey of development in Gujarat. We humbly accept the mandate of the people. Every worker of BJP is committed to public service,” the Chief Minister said.

The BJP has won 11 seats so far and is in the lead with 156 seats, according to the Election Commission’s most recent trends as of 2 p.m. If this position holds, it will be a historic victory for the party.

If the BJP is successful in winning 156 seats in the state, it will break two records: the 127 seats it won in the 2002 Assembly elections, which was the highest number ever for the party; and the 149 seats the Madhav Singh Solanki government won in the Gujarat Assembly elections in 1985, which was the highest number ever.

The exit polls had predicted that the BJP would win a commanding majority and take office for the seventh time in the state.

Beginning on Thursday at 8 a.m., the counting of ballots for the Gujarat Assembly elections has begun.

In Gujarat, the counting started at 37 centres in 33 districts.

182 counting observers, 182 election officials, and 494 assistant election officers were on duty for the counting process, according to Gujarat Chief Electoral Officer P Bharathi. For the purpose of counting the votes, 78 additional assistant election officers will be present. In addition, 71 extra Assistant Election Officers have been given responsibility for the electronic transmission of postal ballots in the previous elections.

Gujarat held two rounds of assembly elections on December 1 and 5, respectively.

Latest news

Related news