BJP suspends 7 rebel MLAs in Gujarat

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has taken disciplinary action and suspended seven party leaders, who had filed nominations as independent candidates after being denied tickets by the saffron party.
All of the seven candidates were seeking tickets in the first phase of the Gujarat Assembly elections. “These MLAs have been suspended for six years for having indulged in anti-party activities,” a BJP communication reveals quoting the party’s state president C.R. Paatil.
BJP leaders who have been suspended include Harshad Vasava from Nandod in Narmada district. Arvind Ladani who has been seeking a ticket from Keshod Junagadh in Junagadh has also been suspended. Chattrasingh Gunjaria from Dhangadra in Surendranagar, Ketan Bhai Patel from Paradi in Valsad, Bharat Bhai Chavda from Rajkot rural, Uday Bhai Shah from Veraval in Gir Somnath district and Karan Bhai Baraiya who was seeking ticket from Amreli’s Rajula face suspension. The BJP which is seeking its seventh term in office in Gujarat has denied tickets to 42 sitting MLAs. The saffron party which announced its big first chunk of 160 candidates saw 38 sitting MLAs being dropped. Several party bigwigs, former Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and former Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel were denied tickets.

Latest news

Related news