MLA quits BJP: Huge setback for the party in Tripura


Bhartiya Janta Party government has faced another blow in Tripura after MLA Burba Mohan Tripura submitted his resignation on Friday, the first day of the assembly session.
Before him three more MLAs from BJP, Ashish Das, Sudip Roy Barman, and Ashish Kumar Saha have resigned in the past four and a half years. Ashish Das joined the Trinamool Congress, while Sudip Roy Barman and Ashish Kumar Saha chose Congress over BJP.

Mohan submitted a letter to speaker Ratan Chakraborty and wrote,“ I hereby tender my resignation to the membership of 43(ST) Karbook Constituency Assembly and request you to kindly accept my resignation.”
He won from Karbook Constituency in the 2018 assembly polls. Speculations are made that after resigning from BJP, he may join Tipra Motha, the regional political party which was initially a social organization of Tripura.

The MLA of Karbook cited ‘personal reasons’ for quitting as a member of the assembly.
Tripura Assembly speaker Ratan Chakraborty told PTI, “The BJP MLA of Karbook assembly segment met me and submitted his resignation letter citing personal reasons. He was accompanied by Tipra Motha chairman Pradyot Kishore Manikya Debbarma.”