Ben Benanke, Dauglas Diamond, Philip Dybvig get Nobel Economics Prizes

Ben S. Bernanke, Douglas W. Diamond, and Philip H. Dybvig received the Nobel Prize in Economics on Monday at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm.

David Card and Joshua Angrist and Guido Imbens received the honour the previous year for their suggestions on how to study subjects that don’t readily lend themselves to conventional scientific methods. David Card’s research on the effects of the minimum wage, immigration, and education on the labour market received the award.

The Nobel Prize for medicine was given to Swedish scientist Svante Paabo on October 3 for his research on Neanderthal DNA. The prize was established by the Swedish central bank in honour of Alfred Nobel. It is the final announcement of the Nobel prizes for the year 2022.

Alain Aspect, John F. Clauser, and Anton Zeilinger, three scientists, who have worked on quantum physics, received the prizes in physics on Tuesday.

American scientists Carolyn R. Bertozzi and K. Barry Sharpless, as well as Danish researcher Morten Meldal, received the Nobel Prize in chemistry on Wednesday for their work on click chemistry.

The Nobel Prize for Literature was awarded to French author Annie Ernaux on Thursday, while the Nobel Peace Prize was given on Friday to Ales Bialiatski, a jailed Belarusian campaigner for human rights, Memorial, and the Ukrainian organisation Center for Civil Liberties.

Latest news

Related news