West Zone beat South Zone to clinch record-breaking 19th Duleep Trophy

West Zone beat South Zone to clinch record-breaking 19th Duleep Trophy

Yashasvi Jaiswal’s incredible double hundred and fiery spells from Jaydev Unadkat and Shams Mulani helped Ajinkya Rahane-led West Zone beat South Zone by 294 runs and clinch their record-breaking 19th Duleep Trophy title here on Sunday.
With this win, West Zone has become the most successful team in this tournament’s history with North Zone following them with 18 titles. Coming into the match, electing to bat first, West Zone put up 270 runs on the board. In reply, South Zone scored 327/10, taking a lead of 57 runs.
However, tables turned in West’s favour as Yashasvi Jaiswal led from the front and scored a scintillating 265 to enable his side to put up a mammoth 585/4 declared in the third innings, taking a lead of 528-run lead.
Chasing 529, South Zone did not have a good start as they lost four wickets even before the score could reach 100. South’s top-order failed completely with Mayank Agarwal (14), skipper Hanuma Vihari (1), Baba Aparajith (4) and Manish Pandey (14) all walking back to the pavilion without troubling the scorer much.
It was Rohan Kunnummal and Ricky Bhui who kept the scoreboard ticking and helped the side cross 100. Mulanigot the crucial breakthrough, sending back Bhui for 13. At this point, West was 139/5. Mulani struck a deadly blow next and dismissed a well-set Kunnummal for 93 to leave South Zone reeling at 6/146.
Ravi Teja and Sai Kishore combined together and tried to steady the ship and helped their side cross the 200-run mark. But their 57-run stand was ended by Chintan Gaja, who sent back Sai for seven. At this point, South was 7/203. Ravi Teja brought up his half-century but Mulani continued his good run trapping him for 53. Rest of the batter could not show much resistance and they bundled out for 234.
Mulani’s 4/51 proved to be instrumental in his team’s win. Sheth and Unadkat got two wickets each. Gaja and Kotian got one scalp each.
In their second innings, West Zone put up the score of 585/4 declared. Jaiswal hit 265 off 323 balls with 30 fours and four sixes. Sarfaraz Khan (127*), Het Patel (51) and Priyank Panchal (40) also scored solid knocks.
Krishnappa Gowtham did get two wickets but leaked runs, going for 235 runs in 50 overs. Sai Kishore also took 2/157. In their first innings, South Zone was bundled out for 327/10. Indrajith led the batting from the front with a brilliant 118 off 125 balls with 14 fours. Manish Pandey (48), Krishnappa Gowtham (43) and Rohan Kunnummal (31) were the other notable contributors.
But it was Unadkat who did his job the best, taking 4/52 and not allowing South to settle with a massive lead. Sheth also took 3/51 and Gaja and Kotian took two and one scalps each. With this, South had a mere 57-run lead in the match. Jaiswal earned the ‘Man of the Match’ title for his heroic double ton.