Supreme Court Collegium Membership Changes; Justice Gavai And Justice Surya Kant, The New Members


The Supreme Court Collegium off 5 Judge has undergone the change while following the retirement of Justice KM Joseph and Justice Ajay Rastogi during the summer vacation.
Justice BR Gavai and Justice Surya Kant being the new members of the 5-member collegium, wherein it recommended the Centre the names for the appointment as the Judge of Supreme Court.
The bench headed by Chief Justice of India DY Chandrachud, Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul and Justice Sanjiv Khanna being the other members of the Supreme Court Collegium. Therefore, Justice Khanna, Gavai and Justice Kant are in line to be future of Chief Justice of India.
It has been stated that Justice Sanjiv Khanna is in line to succeed CJI DY Chandrachud as the Chief Justice of India in November 24, as per his seniorisity.
The bench comprising of Justice Gavai and Justice Surya Kant are in line to be the successors of Justice Khanna.
Therefore, the recommendation of High Court are made by the three member of Supreme court collegium the CJI and the next two senior judges.
The bench of . Justice Sanjiv Khanna has become the member of the 3-member collegium after the retirement of Justice KM Joseph.
However, Justice Kaul being the senior member of the Supreme Court Collegium and will retire by the end of this year, on December 25, 2023.
The Supreme Court which has a working strength of 31 out of the sanctioned strength of 34 judges, will witness more vacancies this year. Justice Krishna Murari, S Ravindra Bhat and Justice SK Kaul are set to retire in the year 2023.
The Supreme Court published the new roster of work for judges, earlier this year.
The Supreme Court will reopen on July 03, 2023 after the summer vacations.