South Africa announces squad for home white-ball series against WEST INDIES


Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced the white-ball squads for the ODI and T20I series against West Indies starting from March 16 onwards, with batter Aiden Markram appointed as the new captain in the shorter format and former all-rounder JP Duminy announced as the full-time white-ball batting coach of the side.
“Cricket South Africa (CSA) has today announced the One-Day International (ODI) and T20 International (T20I) squads, along with the coaching appointments for the white-ball series against West Indies later this month,” said a statement from the board on Monday. Aiden Markram has been appointed the new T20I captain. The 28-year-old takes over from Temba Bavuma, who stepped down as T20I captain last month. Markram has a wealth of leadership experience having previously led South Africa at the Under-19 level earlier in his career and also captained at the provincial and franchise level as well. Most recently, he lead Sunrisers Eastern Cape to the inaugural SA20 title.
Other notable selections include Lions player Bjorn Fortuin, and his team mate, all-rounder Sisanda Magala.
Within the 50-over set-up, several core white-ball players have been rested for the first and second ODIs and will return for the third match. Pace pair Anrich Nortje and Kagiso Rabada have also been given a much-needed break for the series.
Four uncapped players have been named in the squad with Knights fast bowler Gerald Coetzee, Western Province batter Tony de Zorzi and Warriors batter Tristan Stubbs earning their maiden ODI call-ups.