Rajasthan’s ‘Third’ alternative parties lag in candidate nominations


In Rajasthan, emerging new parties made claims of becoming the ‘third’ alternative. However, along with nominations, these claims also remained unfulfilled. The situation is such that even parties that have been working with great fervour for nearly five years, including the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), could not find candidates to contest all 200 seats.

Ultimately, the party had to release lists until the last day. In the end, the party had to field only 87 candidates in the elections. AAP’s State In-charge, Vinay Mishra and State President Navin Paliwal, have repeatedly claimed that AAP would emerge as an alternative in Rajasthan. However, even before the elections, the ‘broom’ has already been swept across AAP’s turf.

BSP fields candidates in 197 seats
On the other hand, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has fielded candidates in 197 constituencies. Although BSP had announced 200 candidates, due to the delay in announcing candidates, they could not reach the election symbols. Consequently, they refrained from filing nominations. Similarly, in Haryana, the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP), which is part of the coalition government, has fielded 27 candidates in the Rajasthan elections. Although, Haryana Deputy Chief Minister Dushyant Chautala had earlier stated that his party would field candidates on 25 to 30 seats in Rajasthan.

RLP gave tickets to 83 candidates
Meanwhile, Nagaur MP and RLP’s supremo Hanuman Beniwal had also claimed to contest elections on 200 seats this time. For this, he also formed an alliance with Chaudhary Chotu Singh’s Azad Samaj Party. However, even in the alliance, both parties could not find candidates for all 200 constituencies. Rashtriya Loktantrik Party has given tickets to 83 candidates, while Azad Samaj Party has only a few selected candidates.

Adivasi Party with 25 candidates in the field
In addition, the Bharatiya Adivasi Party is also going to participate in the Rajasthan Assembly elections this time. The Adivasi Party has fielded a total of 25 candidates. They have also nominated Rajkumar Raut, a former MLA from the Bharatiya Tribal Party, as their candidate from 84 seats. It is worth mentioning that last time, two tribal party MLAs reached the Assembly by winning from the Dungarpur district.