+

"Lot of Our Players Hadn't Known About the Rule": USA Coach Stuart Law on 5 Penalty Runs Which Costed Them the Match

India faced a challenge, needing 35 runs from 30 balls, as Suryakumar Yadav and Shivam Dube struggled against a disciplined USA bowling attack. The Nassau County Cricket Stadium in New York posed difficulties for scoring above run-a-ball. After their historic victory against Pakistan, USA had the opportunity to cause another T20 World Cup upset. The […]

"Lot of Our Players Hadn't Known About the Rule": USA Coach Stuart Law on 5 Penalty Runs Which Costed Them the Match

India faced a challenge, needing 35 runs from 30 balls, as Suryakumar Yadav and Shivam Dube struggled against a disciplined USA bowling attack. The Nassau County Cricket Stadium in New York posed difficulties for scoring above run-a-ball. After their historic victory against Pakistan, USA had the opportunity to cause another T20 World Cup upset. The crowd anticipated a nail-biting last-over thriller, but umpire Paul Reiffel’s unusual signal at the start of the 16th over changed the dynamics.

Five runs were added to India’s total without a ball being bowled, puzzling both commentators and spectators. The digital scoreboard stopped displaying India’s score and the required runs, leaving everyone unsure of what had occurred. USA became the first team penalized under the stop-clock rule for not being ready to bowl within 60 seconds after the previous over.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by ICC (@icc)

USA’s head coach Stuart Law acknowledged the team’s need to improve their adherence to the rule, recognizing it as a learning opportunity. Despite the penalty, India seized the momentum, with Yadav leading the charge to secure victory and advance to the Super 8 stage.

Law disagreed that the penalty affected the game’s outcome, emphasizing his team’s resilience against one of the world’s best teams. He acknowledged the challenge of adjusting to the new rule but stressed the importance of maintaining the game’s pace.

When asked about a potential reconsideration of the stop-clock rule by the ICC, Law expressed support for maintaining the game’s pace but noted the need for balance. He believed the rule did not significantly impact the game’s result but acknowledged its influence on the match’s timing.

Tags:

India vs USApenaltyT20 World Cup 2024TDGThe Daily GuardianUSA Coach