Karnataka polls: Cong alleges, CMO calling returning officers to reject applications of its candidates


The Congress said that the officials of Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai is contacting the returning officers of various districts on Saturday to identify problems with the applications submitted by Congress candidates and correct any errors submitted by BJP candidates running in the Assembly election. According to the head of the Congress’ Karnataka unit, there is a significant plot afoot to deny the applications of the party’s candidates.

D K Shivakumar, the leader of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC), requested the Election Commission to look into the situation and request the CMO’s phone records to discover the truth.

“A major conspiracy is going on to reject the applications of the Congress candidates,” the party’s Karnataka unit chief said while addressing to a press conference.

He charged that some applications of the BJP candidates, for instance in Saundatti Yellamma constituency, are defective but the CMO directly called the officer and directed him to make changes.

“There is no need to elaborate how a big team is trying to reject (my) application. You all have been informed about it,” the Congress state chief said.

Shivakumar said that he has filed the election form 10 times yet when they can do this to him then imagine what they can do to the ordinary candidates.

“Pressure is being built on all the returning officers. There is rampant misuse of power. The EC must take note of it. The CMO must be investigated, the Kanakapura candidate demanded.

On Union Minister Shobha Karandlaje’s charge that the Congress was collecting ‘bribe’ from those candidates who have been given ticket to contest the Assembly election, Shivakumar retorted that his party was not collecting ’40 per cent commission’.

“We are only raising building fund for our party. We are collecting Rs 2 lakh from general candidates and Rs 1 lakh from SC/ST candidates,” Shivakumar explained.

With just a few weeks to voting, the opposition Congress and the incumbent BJP are engaged in a power struggle in Karnataka, with the JD(S) also playing a significant role.

Vote will be casted in a single phase on 10 May and the results will be declared on 13 May in Karnataka.