Karnataka, Odisha, Rajasthan register big wins in zonal meets


The 1st Hockey India Junior Men Zonal Championships 2023 continued on Monday in the North, South, East, and West Zones with Hockey Karnataka, Hockey Association of Odisha, and Hockey Rajasthan registering big wins in their respective zones.
In the first match of the day in the 1st Hockey India Junior Men North Zone Championships 2023, Hockey Himachal forfeited their game against Hockey Chandigarh, giving Hockey Chandigarh a default 5-0 victory. The second match of the day between Hockey Haryana and Hockey Uttarakhand saw Hockey Haryana emerge victorious with a 4-0 scoreline. Rohit Khatri (21’) started the scoring by converting a penalty corner followed by Rohit Rana (41’) slotting a penalty stroke out of the keepers’ reach. Team Captain Prikshit Panchal (43’, 44’) put the game beyond doubt with his brace.
In the first game of the day in the 1st Hockey India Junior Men South Zone Championships 2023 in Ramanathpuram, Tamil Nadu, Hockey Karnataka defeated Le Puducherry Hockey 19-0. Dhruva Bs (1’, 36’, 55’) opened the account for Hockey Karnataka in the very first minute, followed by goals from Kushal Bopaiah Cb (2’, 50’), Sunil P B (7’), Akhil Aiyappa (13’, 19’, 21’, 42’), Team Captain Pavan Dr (15’, 48’), Dhruva Kr (19’, 28’, 42’, 45’), Pilla Akash Nageshwara Rao (22’), Veesam Sai Paramweswararao (39’) and Dhanush Shane D (59’). Tamil Nadu Hockey Unit defeated Kerala Hockey 3-1 in the second match of the day. Anand Y (3’, 36’) and Ramanathan K (15’) converted penalty corners to put the Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu in command of the game. Kolnati Sai Ram (43’) pulled a goal back for Kerala Hockey near the end, but it was in vain. Hockey Andhra Pradesh defeated Telangana Hockey 5-0 in the third match of the day. Nadiminti Akhil Venkat (29’, 32’, 47’), Shaik Irfan (36’), and Kotaru Teja (46’) scored for Hockey Andhra Pradesh to put the game beyond doubt. In the 1st Hockey India, Junior Men East Zone Championship 2023 being held in Khunti (Ranchi), Jharkhand, the Hockey Association of Odisha beat Assam Hockey 14-0.
The goal scorers were Aryan Xess (5’, 22’, 30’, 37’, 54’), Anmol Ekka (26’, 26’, 43’, 48’, 58’), Team Captain Pratap Toppo (41’, 58’), Abhishek Kispotta (49’) and Sanjit Tirkey (60’).