Congress Legislative Party to meet today in Bengaluru

Karnataka Govt formation: Today in Bengaluru, Congress Legislative Party will convene


DK Shivakumar, the head of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC), has written to every lawmaker, requesting that they all show up for the meeting of newly elected MLAs, MLCs, and MPs, which will take place at the Indira Gandhi Bhavan on Queen’s Road in Bengaluru at 7 p.m.

A formal announcement on Siddaramaiah’s appointment as the new chief minister of Karnataka is expected to be made on Thursday evening here in Bengaluru at a gathering of the Congress Legislature Party (CLP).

Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar will replace Siddharamaiah as the state’s chief executive, according to sources.

On 20 May, the oath-taking ceremony will take place in Bengaluru. The Gandhis, Congress chief ministers, and top Congress leaders will attend the event in Bengaluru, sources said, adding that Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge will extend an invitation to opposition leaders to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

A consensus for forming a government was reached, according to sources, after late-night work on Wednesday by Congress President Kharge to resolve the political impasse over the next chief minister.

The All India Congress Committee (AICC) has been urged to send central observers to Bengaluru so that the CLP Meeting can be held there.

Meanwhile, Siddaramaiah, the head of the Congress, had posters posted outside his house and security was tightened.

In the 224-member Karnataka Assembly elections on May 10, the opposition Congress party defeated the incumbent BJP, which received 66 seats, and the Janata Dal (Secular), which won 19 seats.