Jyothi Yarraji clinches gold in 100-metre hurdles at Federation Cup


Athlete Jyothi Yarraji won a gold medal in the women’s 100-metre hurdles at the ongoing Federation Cup athletics event at the Birsa Munda Stadium in Ranchi on Wednesday. Jyothi topped the podium with a meet-record time of 12.89 seconds. She also crossed the Asian Championships qualifying standard of 13.63 seconds set by the Athletics Federation of India (AFI), as per Olympics.com. The Andhra Pradesh athlete, however, fell short of her own national record of 12.82 seconds.

Nithya Ramraj (13.44s) and Sapna Kumari (13.58s), with their second and third finishes at the 100 m hurdles, also made it to the 2023 Asian Athletics Championships, which are scheduled to take place in Bangkok from 12 June to 16 June. Later in the day, Jyothi returned and toppled her competition in the 200-metre heats, qualifying for the final with a time of 23.47 seconds. This mark was also better than the Asian Championships qualifying standards.

Three further finals were held on the penultimate day of the Ranchi meet. Tejas Ashok Shirse won gold in the men’s 100-metre hurdles in 13.72 seconds. The Maharashtra racer broke Siddhanth Thingalaya’s previous meet record of 13.65 seconds, set in 2012. Shalini Chaudhary won the women’s discus throw with a throw of 49.35m, while Damneet Singh of Punjab won the men’s hammer throw with a throw of 64.91m.

Besides Tajinderpal, Sahib Singh (19.23 m) and Karanveer Singh (19.05 m) finished second and third and made the cut. Priya H. Mohan emerged victorious in the women’s 400-metre race with an effort of 53.40 seconds and made the cut.

Rajesh Ramesh (43.75s) and Muhammed Ajmal (45.85s) finished first and second in the men’s 400 m race and made the cut. But Muhammed Anas Yahiya failed to cross the qualification mark despite a third-place finish with timings of 46.19 s.

Amiya Kumar Mallick won the gold medal in the men’s 100m final with a time of 10.31s, although it was not enough to beat the Asian Championships qualification mark of 10.19s.
Srabani Nanda won the women’s 100-metre race in 11.44 seconds, although she, too, did not make the cut for the continental competition.