Jharkhand Court Convicted 10 Accused, Sentenced Them To 10 Years Each; Tabrez Ansari Lynching Case


The Jharkhand local court in Seraikela-Kharsawan in the case observed and has sentenced 10 accused to 10 years imprisonment as stated under Section 304, the culpable homicide not amounting to murder of the Indian Penal Code, 1860 wherein concerning the 2019 Tabrez Ansari Lynching case.
The bench of Additional District Judge-I Amit Shekhar convicted all the accused and has pronounced the quantum of punishment.
The court in the case observed and has imposed a fine of Rs 15,000 on each of the convicts – Bhim Singh Munda, Kamal Mahato, Madan Nayak, Atul Mahali, Sunamo Pradhan, Vikram Mandal, Chamu Nayak, Prem Chand Mahali, Mahesh Mahali.
In the present case, the 24-year-old Ansari was attacked by a mob and was beaten up on the roads on 18.06.2019 after he was in the case accused of stealing a motorcycle. Therefore, he was handed over to the police, from where he was sent to judicial custody after a medical examination.
Further, he was being admitted to the Hospital three days after, he died during his treatment.
The court observed that an alleged video of the incident had also gone viral wherein it showed that Ansari was tied to an electricity pole and was assaulted by the mob while he was purportedly made to chant ‘Jai Shri Ram’ and ‘Jai Hanuman’.