Hasaranga left out in Sri Lanka’s 15 men squad for CWC


Sri Lanka named their 15-player squad for the upcoming ODI World Cup on Tuesday, with star all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga missing out from the squad.
Sri Lanka announced their squad just two days before the ICC’s cut-off date (September 28). Dasun Shanaka will continue with his leadership role, and Kusal Mendis will act as his deputy. The squad holds the majority of their key players except for one, Hasaranga. The leg-spinner picked up a thigh strain last month in the playoffs of the Lankan Premier League.
Hasaranga played a key role during the World Cup Qualifiers held earlier this year in June and July, helping Sri Lanka take away the trophy and secure their spot in the main event in India.
He topped the tournament’s wicket-takers chart by scalping 22 wickets in just seven games. Sri Lanka would be looking to overcome this loss, as they still possess players who can step in to fill his boots.
The side holds variety, with a number of all-round prospects. Skipper Shanaka, Dhananjaya, Dunith Wellalage and Asalanka are the options that will look to provide stability in both departments. The pace department will have the services of Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara and rising star Matheesha Pathirana. In the absence of Hasaranga, the spin attack will be led by Maheesh Theekshana, with support from Wellalage and Dhananjaya.
Sri Lanka will play two warm-up games ahead of the World Cup. Their first game will be against Bangladesh on September 29 and then Afghanistan on October 2. They will kick off their World Cup campaign on October 7 against South Africa at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. Sri Lanka Squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Mendis (vc), Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dushan Hemantha, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka
Travelling reserve: Chamika Karunaratne.