DU sportspersons who made their alma mater proud

Manmohan Singh Kohli, Ashok Diwan

The University of Delhi, better known as DU, has had the privilege of being the alma mater to a large number of distinguished men and women who have made their marks in different walks of life. These include teachers to freedom fighters, scientists to politicians, linguists and poets to lawyers, educationists, to artists and sportspersons to sports administrators, sportscasters, sports trainers and Padma awardees.

The university has a long and proud tradition in sports in which the level of excellence also matches its high academic standards. A world-renowned mountaineer, Manmohan Singh Kohli (year 1965, Faculty of Arts) has been a recipient of Padma Bhushan. Hockey player Ashok Diwan (year 2000, SGTB Khalsa College) got the Dhyan Chand Award for his lifetime achievement in sports and games.

 Many students who excelled in their respective fields have also been recipients of the Padma Shri Award. These names include cricketer Anjum Chopra (year 2014, St Stephen’s College); squash player Bhuvneshwari Kumari (year 2001, Miranda House College); cricketer Gautam Gambhir (year 2019, Hindu College); mountaineer Harikant Dang (year 1976, St Stephen’s College); shooter Jaspal Rana (year 1994, St Stephen’s/Sri Aurobindo College); mountaineer Joginder Singh (year 1974, Hindu/St Stephen’s College) and sports commentator Ravi Chaturvedi (year 2012, Zoology Dept).

Two sportspersons — Manavjeet Singh Sandhu (year 2006, Sri Venkateswara College) and Manika Batra (year 2020, Jesus and Mary College) — have also received the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for shooting and table tennis respectively.

Apart from these names, 9 players who turned to become successful mentors, have won the Dronacharya Award as well. These names include powerlifter Bhupinder Dhawan (Year 2000, Hans Raj College); hockey player Harender Singh (year 2012, SGTB Khalsa College); wrestler Jagminder Singh (year 2007, Hans Raj College); boxer Jaidev Bisht (year 2009, Deshbandhu College); shooter Jaspal Rana (year 2020, St Stephen’s/Sri Aurobindo College); hockey player MK Kaushik (year 2002, Kirori Mal College); cricketer Raj Kumar Sharma (year 2016, PGDAV College); wrestler Raj Singh (year 2013, Kirori Mal College) and cricketer Sunita Sharma (year 2006, Kamla Nehru College).