Delhi BJP shortlists 5 candidates for Rajinder Nagar Assembly bypoll, final name to be announced


With less than a month left for the Rajinder Nagar Assembly bypoll, the Delhi BJP is likely to announce the final name on Sunday after shortlisting five people, thus accelerating the process of candidate selection for the seat, according to sources.

The bypoll at Rajinder Nagar will be held on 23 June this year. The Rajinder Nagar Assembly seat fell vacant after AAP national spokesperson Raghav Chadha resigned as he was promoted to the Rajya Sabha by his party. AAP has fielded Durgesh Pathak for the Rajinder Nagar constituency.

So far, 30 people were interviewed by BJP as likely candidates for the Rajendra Nagar Assembly. Out of which, the party has shortlisted five, according to sources. “BJP is the world’s largest party and we have a democratic policy. We follow the party members before finalising the candidate’s name for the polls. All people including women and young contenders are being considered,” said Delhi BJP in-charge Baijayant Jay Panda in response to a question from ANI on the selection of the final candidate.

“AAP is trying to push the candidate for Rajinder Nagar seat who has lost elections from somewhere. He (Durgesh Pathak) was trying to hold a campaign here, but people did not support him,” he added.

The Delhi BJP in-charge also alleged that Pathak, who served as the vice-president of the Jal Board, is involved in a “scam of thousands of crores”.

“AAP is making only fake promises to Delhi people. Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal promises every year to clean the Yamuna river and provide clean drinking water, but it has not been done yet,” he added. Meanwhile, Congress will also announce the name of the candidate for the Rajinder Nagar bypoll soon.