BCCI announces Indian squad for Women’s Asia Cup 2022


The BCCI announced a 15-member squad for the Women’s Asia Cup T20 tournament, which will be held in Bangladesh from October 1 to 15. Harmanpreet Kaur will captain the team, with Smriti Mandhana as his deputy. Taniya Bhatia and Simran Dil Bahadur have been named as the squad’s standby players.

On the first day of the tournament, India will face Sri Lanka, followed by a match against archrival Pakistan on October 7.

“The All-India Women’s Selection Committee has picked India’s squad for the upcoming ACC Women’s T20 Championship 2022 to be played at Sylhet, Bangladesh from 1st to 15th October,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a release.

A total of seven teams, including hosts Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Malaysia, and the United Arab Emirates, will compete in a round-robin format, with the top four advancing to the semifinal stage.

The semifinals will take place on October 13, with the championship match scheduled for October 15.

India had been defeated 1-2 by England in the three-T20 series.

India’s squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Deepti Sharma, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sabbineni Meghana, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Sneh Rana, Dayalan Hemalatha, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, K.P. Navgire

Standby players: Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia, Simran Dil Bahadur.