Andhra to reorganise districts for ease of governance


The Andhra Pradesh cabinet on Wednesday decided to reorganise its 13 districts into 26 districts by 31 March in such a way that each of the 26 parliamentary constituencies will represent a new district. Each Lok Sabha segment is going to be a new district and the panel has been given time till 31 March, 2021 to complete the process of its study. The committee will be headed by the Chief Secretary.

In Telangana, a similar step was taken and the districts were increased by three folds. There are 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in Andhra Pradesh and the proposal for the creation of a 26th district also came up for the discussion in the cabinet meet held under the chairmanship of CM Jaganmohan Reddy. Deputy Chief Minister Pushpa Sri Vani pointed out that Araku (ST reserved), which is going to be a new district post the restructuring, has a large geographical area and is spread across four districts. Responding to this, the CM directed the authorities to study the possibility of carving Araku Parliamentary constituency into two districts. 

Commenting on this development, information Minister Perni Nani said, “After formation of Telangana state, new districts were created for ease of governance and there is nothing wrong in this.”