294 candidates file 455 nominations for first phase of polls in C’garh


Ahead of the assembly polls in the state of Chhattisgarh next month, 294 candidates submitted a total of 455 nomination papers for the 20 assembly constituencies. Notably, 254 of these nominations were filed on the final day for submission.

The scrutiny of these nomination papers is scheduled for October 21, and candidates will have the opportunity to withdraw their nominations until October 23.

As per the Chief Electoral Officer’s office, the number of candidates for each constituency is as follows:
Rajnandgaon: 33
Kawardha: 29
Pandariya: 20
Bhanupratappur: 15
Jagdalpur and Dantewada: 14 each
Dongargarh, Dongargaon, and Antagarh: 12 each
Khairagarh and Kondagaon: 11 each
Bijapur and Konta: 10 each
Chitrakot: 9
Narayanpur and Khujji: 8 each
Kanker and Keshkal: 7 each
Bastar and Mohla-Manpur: 6 each

The first phase encompasses 12 constituencies within the Bastar division, including eight assembly constituencies across Rajnandgaon, Mohla-Manpur-Ambagarh Chowki, Khairagarh-Chhuikhadan-Gandai, and Kabirdham districts.

The voting for these 20 seats is scheduled for November 7, with the elections taking place in two phases within the state. The total number of voters for these 20 constituencies in the first phase is 40,78,681, consisting of 19,93,937 men, 20,84,675 women, and 69 third-gender voters. The electoral process will be facilitated through 5,304 polling stations.